Draft Logo Project

Untitled-1

For this project I decided to create Lips since my project as a whole is based on makeup. The lips relate to my course topic for the reason that I created lips for a logo and I think it is a very basic universal sign of makeup without adding in other makeup tools. Design influences that inspired me were different makeup brands and the design logos that they all had. It was kind of difficult to come up with something since all of their logos are made to represent their makeup brand name and since I don’t have a name I had to pick something that had correlation with makeup. I looked up a ton of different makeup brand logos and I looked through their images to try and come up with something. The significance of the elements in my design is that I wanted it to be created through different shapes and since this is just a rough draft I haven’t added the different colors or other shapes that I want to go inside of it. I also want those shapes to vary in different shades so there can be different tones and dimension to it.

My design process was kind of difficult because at first, I had no idea how I wanted the logo to look like. I was originally going to do a bunch of makeup brushes, or a mirror with the lips on it, or lipstick/mascara but I thought about all of the articles that I read (that were provided for us in case we needed help) and I remembered it is best to keep things simple.

To make the lip shape I used the pen tool and I copied and pasted to make both top sides of the lips even. I had a different shape for the bottom lip at first but I didn’t like how that looked so I changed it. Challenges that I encountered were trying to fill the color in but then I outlined the whole thing and made a swatch color for it. The stroke is purposefully left another color so that there can be two tones to it but eventually I want to add more.

1 thought on “Draft Logo Project

  1. Although the design of my logo draft is very simple there is still much more that I want to add to it to make it look better. Now that I have gotten the chance to look at the designs of those that are in my group I see that maybe if I add a word or two it can be easier to capture the idea of what my project is being based around. I think that I have a good starting point but there is definitely more that I would like to add to it to improve the overall design. I want to make the edges softer and add a bigger border to the shape of the lips. Hopefully when I add the words to the design it will be better. Like I had mentioned, I want to add more dimension to it by adding different shades of shapes inside of the bigger outline. I know it sounds confusing but hopefully when I work on the final draft it will all come together.

    Like

Leave a comment